Shubman Gill, Mohammed Siraj Axed; Sandeep Sharma Picked In India’s T20 World Cup Squad By Former Star | Cricket News

As the deadline for squad submission for T20 World Cup 2024 gets closer, former cricketers and experts are showing keen interest in it. All of them continue to give suggestions to Ajit Agarkar-led BCCI selection panel based on their respective experiences. Former India cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu has also put forward his views related to the topic. With Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav locked in, he picked the bowling attack for the Indian team that he feels should be taken to the T20 mega event in USA and West Indies, starting June 1. Mohammed Siraj and Yuzvendra Chahal are the players who failed to make a cut.

“My straight advice to Rahul Dravid is that if you want to win this tournament, have five wicket-taking specialist bowlers, simple. The collapse of a team’s character stems from the compromise column. Your character takes a hit when you compromise. You have three spinners – Bishnoi, Kuldeep, and Jadeja picks himself. And play three fast bowlers,” Sidhu said.

Rising star Mayank Yadav has been hogging limelight for his raw pace and control in his bowling. The youngster duly impressed in his first two IPL match by picking 6 wickets before a side strain ruled him out during the third game. Mayank’s return is still awaited. Sidhu feels that if Mayank if available when squad is selected for the upcoming T20 World Cup, he should be picked in the team.

“Mayank Yadav, if fit, walks into the side. Khaleel Ahmed, Mohsin Khan. And Delhi Capitals have Mukesh Kumar. I feel that the Indian team has so many options that if they take wicket-taking bowlers and do not compromise – thinking that this guy can bat a bit, and bowl a bit. These bits-and-pieces things,” Navjot Singh Sidhu added.

Mohammad Kaif’s squad is also interesting. In his 15, he has kept, “Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rohit Sharma as the opener, while Virat Kohli comes in at No.3. Suryakumar Yadav will come in at No. 4. Rishabh Pant at No. 5, while allrounder Hardik Pandya comes at 6 followed by Ravindra Jadeja. Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav next as I am keeping three spinner in the XI. Then Japrit Bumrah and Arshedeep Singh. I am hoping Hardik Pandya will also bowl, ” he said.

“You need batting till No. 8 as you’re playing on slow pitches in theĀ  US. The other four are Sandeep Sharma, Shivam Dube, Rinku Singh and KL Rahul. The back up players are Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chchal and Sanju Samson.”

Topics mentioned in this article